Category: Upgrade

DSC04677 2

DB2 Basics: Patching DB2

Like any software, DB2 requires frequent patching. A database should be one of the most secure parts of any enterprise, and keeping it secure means keeping up with the fixes that are delivered in fix packs. Fix Packs DB2 delivers many things through fixpacks, including: Security Fixes Bug Fixes New Functionality – though IBM goes back and forth on this...

***UNDER STRICT EMBARGO UNTIL 00.01 ON 11 DECEMBER, 2013 GMT***DOCTOR WHO XMAS SPECIAL 2013 0

Deprecated, Discontinued, and Changed Defined for DB2

With each new release of DB2, there is a list of three different categories of old functionality that is somehow different in the new version. The use of these terms can be confusing if you don’t look at them every day. Discontinued Discontinued means that a feature or function is no longer available. If you try to use it, it...

2

TSAMP Issue on Fixpack

As always, when I feel pain, I share the knowledge that pain gained me with my blog readers. Man, that was a painful fixpack. I was upgrading an AIX HADR pair from 10.5 fixpack 3 to 10.5 fixpack 5. My experience has generally been that TSA is painful when patching DB2. Problem Description In this case, I was not patching...

file0001696162701 1

DB2 Upgrade Detail: Upgrading Explain Tables

Explain tables change in structure from version to version of DB2. If you want to continue to use the same set of explain tables across a DB2 upgrade, you must take special action to upgrade them. Explain Tables Explain tables are used when generating a human-readable version of the access plan for a query. They may be implicitly created by...

4

Binding DB2 Base Packages for Various Versions

When connecting between different versions of DB2, you generally need to bind packages from the different versions against the DB2 database. Just because you’ve bound db2ubind and db2cli on the server does not mean that all possible clients connecting in are covered. Sometimes binds happen implicitly, but sometimes they don’t. And you don’t necessarily want to grant a user rights...